more from
Melted Ice Cream

Selph Titled ('21 accidental reissue)

by X-Ray Charles

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

      name your price


  • Cassette + Digital Album

    That's right, it has been reissued! Hand dubbed at the MIC HQ. Each album cover is uniquely hand made, cut and put together by X-Ray Charles - no two the same! Now with a bonus EP on the B-Side: Weird Hybrid, X-Ray Charles' first recorded output. Listen to it at
    Catalogue number: MIC0023.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Selph Titled ('21 accidental reissue) via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 2 days
    edition of 30 

      $12 NZD


Winterlude 00:42
Heavy Fast 02:41
Supersoaker 02:29


This new version contains a 2020 remix of the hit 'Field Recordings of Animal Noises'. It's missing the start bit, but the solo is louder!

It also starts with the previous download-and cassette-only starting track 'covered in shit'.

This is the sophomore mini album from Christchurch's geek trash duo X-Ray Charles. Check out for more awkward nerd scum concerti. Here is some praise for Selph Titled thus far:

"...Damaged jangly guitar pop, pop songs buried beneath fuzz and wrapped in a lo-fi recording, the sort of pop which while it might be as hooky as radio pop, isn't as immediate due to this aesthetic, but once you unpack it, you're like, oh shit!" (Martyn Pepperell, Rip It Up)

"This is a fantastic unknown record, something that most should, but won’t know about. It makes lo-fi music shake and jam in the most smack-addled way possible. " -Ryan Saar, SoundlySounds (Australia)

Four Stars (Vicki Anderson, The Press)

'Covered In Shit' and 'Field Recordings of Animal Noises' featured in Teenage Mutant Ninja Surfers (2013, dir. Toby Cregan):


released October 13, 2021

All songs by X-Ray Charles except Track 3 written by Spare Snare.
Recorded on a Tascam 424 Mk III 4-track tape recorder, with digital vocal overdubs.
X-Ray Charles are Brian Feary and James Sullivan.
Cover photo by Nick Robinson, visit his website and buy his book at

Catalogue number: MIC0022 (digital) MIC0023 (cassette).


all rights reserved



X-Ray Charles Christchurch, New Zealand

Brian and James writing jangly pop music on a 4-track in Christchurch.

contact / help

Contact X-Ray Charles

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like X-Ray Charles, you may also like: